Poem: Jesus is my caffeine fix

Mug

Jesus: Living Water of Caffeine Fix

I have been writing poetry on and off for the last 15 years. A lot of what I’ve written has been recycled – I only keep the good stuff. Some of it has been published, some of it not yet.

A few years ago, by way of a birthday present, I gave my mum a mug with a poem on it that I had written.  She seems to drink in this mug all the time.

Yesterday morning (Thursday), Premier Radio’s Breakfast Show ran a poetry competition, with the prize being a book of poems by Christian pastor Jill Briscoe. My mum decided to read out the poem that I had written and had printed on her mug.

It probably doesn’t take a PhD to work out that I wouldn’t be posting about this if she hadn’t won.

So, I post that poem here for your (hopeful) enjoyment and it should be clear why it was an appropriate text for a mug.

Caffeine Fix

When I wake up in the morning,

You give me a kick for the day.

You are there on my way to work,

And I don’t even have to pay.

It’s my need for you that gets me

From my overwhelming desk.

But you give me the energy

To get through more, not less.

Where two or three have gathered,

It’s your aroma that’s in the air.

As I catch up with my friends,

Your refreshing power is what we share.

When I get home to the TV,

It is on you I like to sup.

Move over, Starbucks, Kenco, Nescafe,

Jesus Christ is my coffee cup.

(C)2011 Pravin Jeya

PhD Student

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Anecdotes
5 comments on “Poem: Jesus is my caffeine fix
  1. Your poem expresses quite well how it really should be. My motivation is similarly expressed in a poem about Monday, which the world seems to dread.
    http://thebardonthehill.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/monday-by-dennis-lange/

  2. Sorry I didn’t comment on this last night–you caught me on Twitter just as I was about to head to sleep. There are two things here that stand out as positive: one is that you’re willing to use imperfect rhymes like desk / less which prevent the end-rhyme pattern from becoming too heavy or singsong. The second is that comparing Jesus to coffee is a truly original conceit. Have you read many of the Metaphysical Poets (like John Donne and Katherine Philips)? They tended to work in complicated conceits, and reading them (or reading them more) might help you to continue to deepen your poetic practice.

    • pravinjeya says:

      Thanks Elizabeth for your comments. Not quite sure what a conceit is but I’ll look it up – I’m assuming it’s a technical term and nothing to do with the usual meaning. I haven’t read in Metaphysical Poets (or if I have, I didn’t know that’s what they’re called) – I’ll check them out.

  3. Tamara says:

    How sweet that you gave this to your mother on a coffee mug, and how sweet that she called in to enter it in the contest. I love what these things say about your relationship– precious.

    • pravinjeya says:

      Stop, you’re embarrassing me…anyway, it’s partly because of her that I eventually became a Christian.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

